You can’t improve it if you can’t measure it

May 1, 2010 at 9:22 am 2 comments

DebiDavisDriven

3D Communications

Anyone who has a website or blog knows the importance of driving traffic to it. But how do you know how much traffic you’re getting and where it’s coming from?

I received a bit of advice through my Twitter feed this morning from social media maven, Guy Kawasaki. He provided four steps to track your social networking success . The first step very emphatically reminded me of the importance of Google Analytics. I was aware of this tool, but haven’t spent the time to learn how to use it. Today was the day.

I spent about 10 minutes reading and following simple instructions for getting started with Google Analytics and another 9 minutes watching a YouTube video about how to use the analytics reports. I’m feeling pretty smart for getting it figured out, but pretty dumb for waiting so long to do this!

The 10 minutes of reading included actually installing the tool on each of the six pages of my website. Honestly, it was a matter of copying & pasting code into the five Java Script blocks that were clearly marked and easily accessible on my website’s dashboard. According to something I read, it takes about 24 hours for the analytics tool to start capturing data. But, for some reason, data for my site was available immediately. After viewing the above-mentioned video about the reports and then reviewing my reports, I realize I need to look very differently at my whole strategy for my online presence.

Things I need to do to my website:

  • Consider it an ultimate destination, and therefore, develop a plan for making it
    1. a valuable source of information,
    2. interactive,
    3. a place for creating connections (through a “call to action”)
  • Include links to it in my social sites and activities
  • Set goals related to keyword searches, page views, and time spent on my site that can be measured (a function of Google Analytics) so I know if I’m making the desired progress.

I still have much to learn, but by following the above steps I will be learning in a very productive way. Considering how much I value both “learning” and “productivity,” I’m pretty happy with this plan.

If you’d like to help me, please click on the link to my website so that I have some traffic to analyze. And, while you’re there, if you see something that needs to be improved, I’d love to hear from you. Suggestions, ideas, anything at all will be much appreciated!

Entry filed under: Learning, Productivity, Social Media. Tags: , , .

How to Manage Information Overload Three Ways to Measure Your Twitter Effectiveness

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chris Vanderhood  |  June 24, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    Great post! Here is something that may help as well on the quest to better SEO, by typing in pages:http://whateverwebsite.com you can see googles analysis of any given website.

    Thanks for the great article.

    Reply
    • 2. debidavisdriven  |  June 24, 2010 at 7:02 pm

      Chris – thanks for the tip. Tell me, though, where do I type ‘pages:http://whateverwebsite.com‘ to get this information? I tried it in the Google search bar, but that didn’t do it; then I looked for a place in the analytics tool, but didn’t find anything. I’d love to see how I compare to others — that’ll help me establish improvement goals.

      Thanks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 940 other followers

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

Tweets from DebDrive

Favorite Sites


